bits and pieces in pen and paint

Sketching around the world – Part 2: Washington DC

I arrived in DC on Saturday night, after nearly being put off my flight out of Sydney (my boarding card hadn’t registered) and a 40 minute delay from LAX. After twenty four hours of travel and one night’s sleep I armed myself with my sketching gear and set off to see Washington.

I saw this amazing Post Office last time I was here and couldn’t resist drawing it. But I got rather lost in the detail and had to draw it in two bites (punctuated by a visit to the National Art Gallery). By the time I finished I was so cold I could barely paint straight with my waterbrush. Two hours later it began to snow.

20140325-213313.jpg

Leave a Reply

